Calling It Good

The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me;
your steadfast love, O LORD, endures forever.
Do not forsake the work of your hands.

-Psalm 138:8

I can trust God’s purpose for me without knowing what it is, because I know God and Who He is. To trust His purpose is to aim to do what He would have me do, but it is also to accept His evaluation of it in the end. To trust his purpose is to say, “I am discarding my own expectations as measuring tapes for my life; I am throwing away others’ expectations, too.” If God says it is good then I will try to do it, and if God says it is good, then I will call it good.

This often means committing to the responsibilities that God has put before us, such as family, neighborhood, congregation, business, or friends. It often comes at the expense of what we’ve been told to choose: Not just money, but also ministry worth writing about in the paper, experiences worth Instagramming, sometimes our dreams. Yet, we will not be disappointed in the end if we exchange our hopes for God’s hopes for us. He is the God of all wisdom, our loving Father, the Beginning and the End. He knows. More over, He has promised: “The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me. Your steadfast love, O LORD, endures forever.”

Young adults desperately collect experiences. They almost seem to be operating under the idea that by collecting the largest number of travel, sexual, thrill-seeking, drinking and social experiences, they will be happy. Yet to [my wife] and me, these young adults seem far from happy. Many of them wander from bed to bed, pub to pub, ski area to ski area in a haze of unfulfilled good cheer—cheer that only touches the outer layers of the soul.

-Everett Worthington Jr., Coming to Peace with Psychology, p.220

About Alex Kato

Born and raised in Seattle, my wife Annie and I first left town so I could attend Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary in Massachusetts. We now live in New Jersey, where I am working on a PhD in homiletics (the study of preaching) at Princeton Theological Seminary. I love to converse, preach, read, write, and teach. Someday I hope to serve Jesus Christ's Church through both preaching and teaching preaching.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

