The Chair and the Desk, 4/21/16

From the chair:

When I look at the heavens,
   the works of your fingers,
   the moon and the stars
   that you have put in place–
What is man
   that you are mindful of him?
   the son of man
   that you care for him?

-Psalm 8:3-4

I was glad to come across these verses this morning; this psalm is lodged deep in my soul, thanks to the Bible memory days at Bellevue Christian School. Despite the fact that I could memorize this as a child, despite the fact that I’ve heard it many times, I was struck, today, by the fact that the psalmist and I have had virtually the same thought when looking up at the stars. The sky is so big. The universe is so big. I am relatively small, relatively microscopic. Is it really possible that there is a God who cares about little me?

The psalmist declares that he does–“you have crowned him with glory and honor,” he says. It’s the author of Hebrews who finally tells us why and how that can be. It’s because of the one man who came and raised the bar for what a human could really be; in fact, as he did so, he acted on our behalf, he became our representative, in his life, his death, and his resurrection. Jesus Christ is the true man, the true Son of Man, who has been crowned with glory and honor. In him we have the opportunity to again become what we were made to be.


From the desk:

Nothing from the desk today, and nothing tomorrow–we’re taking a weekend trip to DC!


“The chair” is the one Annie aptly chose for the corner of our living room, and it’s where I am committed to daily hearing from God’s Word–the Word I above all else hope to speak to others. “The desk” is the one by my coffee grounds and spare charger (if I get to the library early enough); it’s where I have the privilege of reading and thinking all day, where I intend to learn for others’ sake.

About Alex Kato

Born and raised in Seattle, my wife Annie and I first left town so I could attend Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary in Massachusetts. We now live in New Jersey, where I am working on a PhD in homiletics (the study of preaching) at Princeton Theological Seminary. I love to converse, preach, read, write, and teach. Someday I hope to serve Jesus Christ's Church through both preaching and teaching preaching.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

